Question? Call us
212-363-750059
Days Left
Lead Plaintiff Deadline
Jan 5, 2027
Please Upload related files below
Fill in below.
Tell us the stocks you own using SnapTrade, and we will keep you informed about class action litigation related to your stocks. We monitor critical case developments that may affect the price of your shares and your possible monetary recovery. SnapTrade only shares the tickers you own and your transaction history, not your account numbers. Using SnapTrade and participating in our monitoring service is free and does not create any attorney-client relationship or obligation on your part.
Don’t miss out on possible monetary recovery - link your brokerage account with SnapTrade.
According to the complaint, defendants provided overwhelmingly positive statements to investors while, at the same time, disseminating materially false and misleading statements and/or concealing material facts concerning the true state of Kinross’ production guidance; notably, that Kinross did not have the necessary resources and/or was otherwise ill equipped to achieve the approximately 2 million gold equivalent ounces (“Au eq. oz.”) being projected. On September 23, 2026, Kinross issued an “Operational and Return of Capital Update” mid-quarter. In the release, Kinross announced that both full-year 2026 and 2027 attributable production guidance was being reduced to 1.84 million to 1.86 million Au eq. oz. The Company attributed the results, in significant part, on ore recovery challenges at Round Mountain. Defendants would later disclose these challenges were operational in nature and were likely to stem from dilution caused by the use of oversized tools and machinery in the mining process. On this news, the price of Kinross’ common stock declined dramatically. From a closing market price of $27.62 per share on September 23, 2026, Kinross’ stock price fell to $24.42 per share on September 24, 2026, a decline of about 11.5% in the span of just a single day.
Investors who purchased or otherwise acquired Kinross Gold Corporation securities within the class period described above and suffered losses may be eligible.
If you suffered a loss in Kinross Gold Corporation during the relevant time frame or pursuant to the relevant offering(s), you have until January 5, 2027 to request that the Court appoint you as lead plaintiff. Your ability to share in any recovery doesn't require that you serve as a lead plaintiff.
● The Allegation: The complaint alleges that Kinross made materially false and misleading statements by repeatedly assuring investors it was "solidly on track" to meet production guidance of approximately 2 million gold equivalent ounces for each of fiscal years 2026 through 2028, while allegedly concealing that it lacked the resources to achieve those targets and that operational problems at the Round Mountain mine, including potential dilution associated with larger mining equipment, threatened production.
● The Stock Drop: On September 24, 2026, KGC fell $3.20 (about 11.5%) to close at $24.42 per share, down from $27.62 per share on September 23, 2026, after Kinross issued a mid-quarter update cutting its full-year 2026 and 2027 production guidance.
● Class Period & Defendants: The class period runs from February 18, 2026 through September 23, 2026, inclusive. The named defendants are Kinross Gold Corporation, J. Paul Rollinson (Chief Executive Officer and Director), Andrea Susan Freeborough (Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer), Claude J. S. Schimper (Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer until July 29, 2026, when his retirement was announced), and William D. Dunford (Executive Vice President and Chief Technical Officer following his promotion in March 2026).
● Lead Plaintiff Deadline: January 5, 2027. Investors who wish to seek appointment as lead plaintiff must apply by the deadline.
|
Kinross Gold Class Action Summary |
|
|
Company |
Kinross Gold Corporation (NYSE: KGC) |
|
Lead Plaintiff Deadline |
January 5, 2027 |
|
Class Period |
February 18, 2026 – September 23, 2026 |
|
Stock Drop |
September 24, 2026 – KGC fell $3.20 (about 11.5%) to $24.42 |
A securities class action lawsuit has been filed against Kinross Gold Corporation (NYSE: KGC). The case was brought on behalf of investors who bought Kinross common stock between February 18, 2026 and September 23, 2026.
The complaint alleges that Kinross made materially false and misleading statements about its gold production outlook. Kinross told investors it was "on track" to produce about 2 million gold equivalent ounces per year through 2028. But the lawsuit claims the company was not equipped to hit those targets and hid growing problems at its Round Mountain mine.
On September 23, 2026, Kinross cut its production guidance for 2026 and 2027. The next day, the stock fell from $27.62 to $24.42 per share, a drop of about 11.5% in one day. Investors who bought during the class period may have suffered losses.
Kinross Gold Corporation is a Canadian gold mining company headquartered in Toronto, Ontario, with regional offices and mining facilities in the United States and abroad. Its operations include the Round Mountain open-pit gold mine in Nye County, Nevada, as well as the Paracatu mine in Brazil, Tasiast in West Africa, Fort Knox in Alaska, and La Coipa in Chile. During the class period, Kinross common stock traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol KGC.
February 18, 2026–September 23, 2026
Investors who purchased or otherwise acquired Kinross Gold Corporation (KGC) common stock during the Class Period may be eligible to seek recovery under the federal securities laws.
The complaint alleges that throughout the class period, Kinross and four individual defendants, Chief Executive Officer J. Paul Rollinson, Chief Financial Officer Andrea Susan Freeborough, Chief Operating Officer Claude J. S. Schimper, and Chief Technical Officer William D. Dunford, provided investors with materially false and misleading statements about the company's production outlook. According to the complaint, defendants repeatedly expressed confidence in what they described as "stable" guidance for production of approximately 2 million gold equivalent ounces for each of fiscal years 2026, 2027, and 2028.
The alleged misstatements began on February 18, 2026, when Kinross confirmed its multiyear production guidance and, on the following day's earnings call, reaffirmed the 2 million ounce target. The lawsuit claims these optimistic representations continued through the April 29, 2026 first-quarter results and the July 29, 2026 second-quarter results, when management repeatedly assured investors the company was "on track" and "solidly on track" to meet guidance. Defendants attributed sequential production declines at Round Mountain to a planned transition through its "Phase S" mining layback and projected a strong production ramp in the second half of 2026.
The complaint alleges these statements were materially false and misleading because Kinross did not have the necessary resources and was otherwise ill equipped to achieve the roughly 2 million ounce target. According to the filing, the company was seemingly already using larger mining equipment at Round Mountain that carried greater dilution risk, which allegedly threatened ore recovery and was not adequately disclosed to investors. The lawsuit claims defendants minimized the risks tied to continued production declines at Round Mountain while assuring investors production would significantly ramp to meet guidance.
The complaint further alleges that defendants knew or recklessly disregarded that the production targets lacked a reasonable basis. It points to Rollinson's July 30, 2026 remarks about exploring "bigger trucks, bigger shovels" to compress mining schedules, contrasted with his September 29 statement that the company believed some of the Round Mountain challenges may have been related to dilution and had decided to shift to smaller equipment, as evidence the company was aware of the operational issues it did not disclose to investors.
On September 23, 2026, Kinross published a mid-quarter "Operational and Return of Capital Update" that sharply reduced its production outlook. The company announced that full-year 2026 and 2027 attributable production would be 2% to 3% below the low end of prior guidance, at approximately 1.84 million to 1.86 million gold equivalent ounces per year. Kinross attributed the shortfall in significant part to ore recovery challenges at Round Mountain, along with weather and recovery issues at La Coipa.
At the Mining Forum Americas on September 29, 2026, Rollinson elaborated on the Round Mountain challenges. He described the recovery and grade problems as "operational" and explained that the company believed part of the issue was dilution, prompting a decision to reduce the size of its mining fleet by shifting from bigger shovels to smaller shovels for more selective mining. The complaint alleges this disclosure directly contradicted the defendants' earlier assurances, revealing that the company had been using machinery carrying a greater dilution risk and that Phase S would need to slow its mining rate to preserve gold.
The lawsuit claims these revelations exposed the gap between management's repeated "on track" assurances and the operational reality at Round Mountain. Analysts covering Kinross responded by cutting their price targets, with firms noting the guidance reduction reflected lower mining rates, grades, and recoveries, and one analyst noting that the revised guidance was 7% to 10% below its prior estimates and 8% to 9% below consensus.
Investors and analysts reacted immediately to the September 23, 2026 disclosure. Kinross common stock declined from a closing price of $27.62 per share on September 23, 2026 to $24.42 per share on September 24, 2026, a decline of about 11.5% in a single trading day. According to the complaint, several analysts who followed Kinross lowered their price targets in response, with reductions ranging from roughly 7.4% to 8.6%, citing the production deferrals and recovery challenges at Round Mountain and La Coipa. The depth of analyst coverage of the guidance reduction, the lawsuit claims, confirms that the market placed significant weight on Kinross' production estimates.
● Lead Plaintiff Deadline: January 5, 2027
● After the lead plaintiff deadline, the Court will consider any lead plaintiff motions.
● Defendants may file a motion to dismiss.
● If the case proceeds, the Court may later consider class certification.
Disclaimer: This shareholder alert is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Consult a qualified attorney for personalized guidance. Prior results do not guarantee similar outcomes.
The lawsuit alleges that Kinross Gold Corporation (NYSE: KGC) made materially false and misleading statements about its gold production outlook between February 18, 2026 and September 23, 2026. According to the complaint, Kinross repeatedly assured investors it was "on track" to produce approximately 2 million gold equivalent ounces per year through 2028, while allegedly concealing that it lacked the resources to meet those targets and that operational problems at the Round Mountain mine threatened production. When Kinross cut its guidance on September 23, 2026, the stock declined sharply.
The complaint names Kinross Gold Corporation and four individual defendants. They are J. Paul Rollinson, the Chief Executive Officer and a Director; Andrea Susan Freeborough, the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer; Claude J. S. Schimper, the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer until his retirement was announced on July 29, 2026; and William D. Dunford, the Executive Vice President and Chief Technical Officer following his promotion in March 2026. The complaint alleges each individual defendant had the power and authority to control the content of the company's public statements.
The class period runs from February 18, 2026 through September 23, 2026, inclusive. This covers investors who purchased or acquired Kinross Gold common stock during that window. According to the complaint, the class period begins with the company's February 18, 2026 fourth-quarter and full-year results, when it confirmed multiyear production guidance, and ends with the September 23, 2026 mid-quarter update that reduced that guidance. Investors who bought KGC shares during this period may be eligible to seek recovery under the federal securities laws.
According to the complaint, Kinross issued a mid-quarter "Operational and Return of Capital Update" on September 23, 2026 that reduced its full-year 2026 and 2027 production guidance to approximately 1.84 million to 1.86 million gold equivalent ounces per year, below the low end of prior guidance. The company attributed the shortfall in significant part to ore recovery challenges at Round Mountain. KGC stock fell from $27.62 per share on September 23, 2026 to $24.42 per share the next day, a decline of about 11.5%.
The complaint alleges Kinross concealed that it did not have the necessary resources and was otherwise ill equipped to achieve its projected production of approximately 2 million gold equivalent ounces. The lawsuit claims the company was seemingly already using larger mining equipment at Round Mountain that carried a greater dilution risk, which defendants allegedly did not disclose. According to the complaint, Rollinson later stated that the company believed some of the operational challenges may have been related to dilution and had decided to shift to smaller equipment for more selective mining, which would slow the mining rate but reduce dilution.
Investors who purchased or otherwise acquired Kinross Gold (KGC) common stock during the class period of February 18, 2026 through September 23, 2026 may be eligible to seek recovery under the federal securities laws. The lead plaintiff deadline is January 5, 2027. Investors who wish to seek appointment as lead plaintiff must apply by the deadline. The lead plaintiff typically represents the interests of all class members in directing the litigation, but investors do not need to seek appointment as lead plaintiff to remain potential class members and potentially share in any future recovery.
The lead plaintiff deadline is January 5, 2027.
The lawsuit alleges Kinross Gold (NYSE: KGC) made materially false and misleading statements about its gold production outlook, assuring investors it was "on track" to produce about 2 million gold equivalent ounces per year while allegedly concealing operational problems at its Round Mountain mine.
The class period runs from February 18, 2026 through September 23, 2026, inclusive. Investors who purchased Kinross common stock during this period may be eligible to seek recovery under the federal securities laws.
On September 23, 2026, Kinross cut its 2026 and 2027 production guidance, citing ore recovery challenges at Round Mountain. KGC shares fell from $27.62 to $24.42 per share the next day, a decline of about 11.5%.
The lead plaintiff deadline is January 5, 2027.
Deadline
Jan 5, 2027